Don’t get attached to the superficial things in life

My mother always tells me, “Don’t get attached to the superficial things in life”. And somehow when she says this to me, I wonder what she means… Love, people say is superficial – when you are swept off your feet, looks too, when you care about how you look and your make up too, clothes when you want to stay in fashion… does that mean everything?

Does it mean that we should not be too attached because it all falls away at the end of  the day… And I sit wondering, I don’t want to be too attached to people but how can a human being not want to be or have an attachment to anything? How can you not want to be attached in “sense” and love someone. How can you not want something at least a tad “superficial” as they say…

And I get lost in my thoughts, if you can be the person to not care about materialism then great. But what about your inside? Your feelings… Can you let that all go and not care about these things? Can the superficial things make or break you?

Loving and losing, getting too attached, feeling for someone, caring about your appearance, wanting more in life in different forms?
Dont get too attached? What area does that affect though? The spiritual, the logical, the practical, the emotional….

How can you as a human being not want these things? Sure you cannot take them with you but you can have them for a while, even if it’s not forever, and once its gone, you will at least be able to say “I have done that”. I don’t know why my mother always says that to me, she does it often enough for me to write about it. But what exactly that means, I am not too sure?

In life it is never easy to lose attachment to things and bonds with people whether they are mistakes or not, but you can get up and say you either learnt or you didn’t. And aren’t the lessons in life about that saying anyway… we learn and so from our mistakes we gather what is really worth our effort and what is not?

So when my mother says “Don’t get attached to the superficial things in life” does she mean don’t believe the promises and people’s words? Should I wear a shield over myself so I can protect my heart and soul from people? And from the nastiness that lingers ever so much in the world? Should I escape to an island where I am the only resident? Where no one can give me false promises… and lie?

Or is she pretty much telling me not be materialistic? Does that mean if I like something it is bad? Or am I vain for buying something new? Is it going to harm my karma to indulge myself in something….Will I lose my chance of getting to the good line at the end of the day?  Have I struck a rut and will I now forever be damned for wanting something.

Or is she telling me that “in life my daughter, not a lot matters”. Nothing, you can have anyway and everything will kill you. Is she referring to my life in the future or present. Is she showing me in that in life only the basics matter first then whatever comes after is a bonus? (Cause I am like that already, mom)

Leave a comment