Where the Sidewalk Ends

So, this here post is about one author who I have always read since my uncle bought me his book from America, meet Shel Silverstein. His poems are innocent and full of child like laughter and intelligence, along with illustrations. “Where the Sidewalk Ends”,  I have read a couple thousand times, I still own the original copy that was bought for me years and years ago when I was still in primary school.

He was one of the first authors that I read in the “poem” section who inspired me to write poetry and I have ever since. I don’t post about it because I believe poetry is a personal topic. But I love it, it is inspirational. Poetry opens your eyes to pictures and people and a world that has no rules and rhymes. Poetry brings out the best I think in any writer, because if you are like me you write from your heart and your feelings. Words go together even they are not meant to. And every time you read poetry or I do for that matter I swell inside with joy and appreciation. So today, in this post I share with you my very favorite author.

I “met” him when I was a child and he has forever grown up with me to this day. When ever I write poetry or even a post I remember lying on my bed or walking around reading “Where the Sidewalk Ends”. It’s my favorite upon many but this would be tops for me. The pictures are fabulous that he draws. But he has walked through my entire life with me. This book has traveled with me where ever I have moved, where I have slept, It is in my book shelf at this current moment. At any given age I have read his book,again 🙂 I do not think I will ever give up “Where the Sidewalk Ends”.

I have found a few of his poems to share with you, although he has brought out new books, I have never read the new ones because this one is sentimental. So I hope you enjoy what makes me happy. My favorites among these that are below are “Invitation” and “Listen to the Mustn’ts”.  There are many things I am thankful and these are one of them for without this book I would have never began to write poetry! And take a little time to read these, please !